Spot the Difference

(Anchor and Hope Music; August 3, 2010)
UK legends to release new recordings of their classic hits

Stateside Summer Tour Dates Announced

As teenagers on the South London Scene in the 1970s, teenage friends Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook formed Squeeze, the pioneering UK band that saw them dubbed ‘The New Lennon and McCartney.” Championed early on by the Velvet Underground’s John Cale, who produced their debut EP, Packet Of Three,” Squeeze established their position as one of Britain’s most beloved bands with 1979’s Cool For Cats, setting off a career that would spawn decades and produce hits in the UK and abroad.  
Now, some 35 years later, Squeeze have re-recorded 14 of their classic tracks for Spot the Difference, an album of all their classic hits re-recorded in a way so painstakingly faithful to the originals that they challenge you to spot the difference. The album will be released August 3 in the US through Anchor and Hope Music. The quality of these “new” tracks cements the band’s legacy, not only serving as a reminder of how great those songs were but how compelling they sound today.
Along with Elvis Costello and Nick Lowe, Squeeze was one of the UK New Wave scene’s few US success stories, with “Tempted (which appears on Spot The Difference, with Paul Carrack reprising his vocal) becoming a massive hit in the States.  Albums like Argybargy and the Elvis Costello-produced East Side Story led to a spate of UK hit singles which made their way to discerning music fans in the States: “Pulling Mussels from a Shell,” “If I Didn't Love You,” “Black Coffee In Bed,” “Up The Junction,” “Goodbye Girl” and others.

As befits one of the UK’s most beloved acts, their witty, kitchen-sink lyricism and clever takes on modern relationships continue to influence current artists such as Mark Ronson, Kasabian, Lily Allen and Razorlight, to name just a few.  Squeeze’s impressive catalog, with its evergreen, universal appeal, sounds as vibrant as ever on Spot the Difference, with new fans and old flocking to the band’s live shows.

Chris Difford’s
lyrics and Glenn Tilbrook’s music have survived everything over the years, from the ever-changing musical landscape to their own internal reshuffles and acrimonious breakups - but Squeeze is here to stay, still going strong and still loving every moment.

Squeeze will be kicking off the US Tour in July with Cheap Trick, followed by dates with the English Beat.
Spot the Difference
Track listing
1.  Another Nail In My Heart

2.  Black Coffee In Bed

3.  Cool For Cats          

4.  Goodbye Girl               

5.  Hourglass         

6.  Is That Love

7.  Labelled With Love

8.  Loving You Tonight

9.  Pulling Mussels (From The Shell)

10.  Slap And Tickle

11.  Some Fantastic Place

12.  Take Me I'm Yours

13.  Tempted

14.  Up The Junction